Thank You For Your Spirit!


Scripture  Psalm 28 ;

 1 To you I call, O LORD my Rock;
       do not turn a deaf ear to me.
       For if you remain silent,
       I will be like those who have gone down to the pit.

 2 Hear my cry for mercy
       as I call to you for help,
       as I lift up my hands
       toward your Most Holy Place.

 3 Do not drag me away with the wicked,
       with those who do evil,
       who speak cordially with their neighbors
       but harbor malice in their hearts.

 4 Repay them for their deeds
       and for their evil work;
       repay them for what their hands have done
       and bring back upon them what they deserve.

 5 Since they show no regard for the works of the LORD
       and what his hands have done,
       he will tear them down
       and never build them up again.

 6 Praise be to the LORD,
       for he has heard my cry for mercy.

 7 The LORD is my strength and my shield;
       my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
       My heart leaps for joy
       and I will give thanks to him in song.

 8 The LORD is the strength of his people,
       a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

 9 Save your people and bless your inheritance;
       be their shepherd and carry them forever.

Observation

Faith is holding fast to what we know God is going to do.  We may be in the midst of the storm, but faith is in thanking God for the sunshine.

Application

We are a peculiar people, the world thinks we are foolish and whimsical but there is a truth that goes beyond the worlds understanding, a truth that you must see with spiritual eyes rather than the physical and this is the truth that we cling to.  

In vs 2 of Psalm 28 David is crying out for God to “Hear my cry for mercy”  but by verse 6 he is praising God that he has heard his cry for mercy.  Now its obvious that the mercy he sought, I.E. the destruction of his enemies, he had not yet seen.  But David is showing faith in praising God for it before he sees the results of it in the physical.

What we Speak and Believe in our hearts, will we have.  That is what Jesus taught us.  It was not that which we see and touch, we should speak and believe, its the opposite, its not in line with worldly knowledge, it is foolishness to the world but wisdom to the faithful.

I think it was Jack Canfield (author of Chicken Soup for the Soul) who said, “That which we think about, and Thank about, we bring about.” 

If you are looking for a physical manifestation in your life today, no matter what you need; healing, strength, peace, mercy, whatever it is, just start Thanking God for it right now.  Start believing and knowing that God is going to bring about that which your heart desires and FEEL the thankfulness for it.  Allow the Joy of knowing that God has answered your prayer fill you up to overflowing.

David had the right formula – ask for it – then believe in it as if God has already done it.  Lets follow his example for our own lives today.

Prayer

Lord I ask that you will bless me with a zeal for you that surpasses any I’ve ever known.  I ask that you place within me a fire that is so hot that it must spread to all who come near.  I thank you for your spirit that is burning within, Thank you for setting me to the work of your kingdom to win lost souls for you and to bind up the hearts that have been broken.

I sing of your glory forever!

Love Michael

Yieldedness

 I give up my feelings of doubt – and embrace gratitude for what God is doing right now!

Leave a Reply

