He is watching over me.


Scripture Numbers 14 ;

 39 When Moses reported this to all the Israelites, they mourned bitterly. 40 Early the next morning they went up toward the high hill country. “We have sinned,” they said. “We will go up to the place the LORD promised.”

 41But Moses said, “Why are you disobeying the LORD’s command? This will not succeed! 42 Do not go up, because the LORD is not with you. You will be defeated by your enemies, 43for the Amalekites and Canaanites will face you there. Because you have turned away from the LORD, he will not be with you and you will fall by the sword.”

 44Nevertheless, in their presumption they went up toward the high hill country, though neither Moses nor the ark of the LORD’s covenant moved from the camp. 45Then the Amalekites and Canaanites who lived in that hill country came down and attacked them and beat them down all the way to Hormah.

Observation

Our actions have consequences. 

You can not avoid the judgment of God.  The Lord is forgiving and merciful, he had wanted to strike down these Israelites who had continually doubted Him, but as Moses pleaded with Him, he had compassion and allowed them to live.  However His judgment was that they should not enter into this land of milk and honey, and that their children would only go in after forty years, after all of them (who had doubted and complained after seeing the glories of God) had been buried.   This was the judgment of the Lord, and there was no way around it.  Although the Israelites realized they had done wrong, the consequences of their sin were still upon them.  As hard as they tried, they could not enter the land.

Application

I thank God that His mercy is sufficient for me, that it is never ending, and fresh every morning.  However with that in mind I also should remember that because I am forgiven, does not mean that my actions have no consequences. 

If I let my words or actions injure someone else, I may be able to be forgiven by God, and possibly even by the person I’ve hurt, if I truly repent and am sorry, but being forgiven doesn’t mean that what I did or said doesn’t have reprocussions in the life of that person, or even in my own life.

We should always be aware that what we are doing and saying in our interactions with God and one another has lasting effects upon us and those around us. 

Also we need to be aware that the Judgment of God is inevitable – He will judge our sins and the penalty must be paid.  But thanks be to God who loved us so much that He sent Jesus to the cross to pay that penalty for us.  His judgement therefore has not been avoided, but He has provided the payment Himself.  As long as we accept Jesus, our sins are covered.  But never forget that our negative actions, even though they may be forgiven, still bring consequences in a real way.

Prayer

Father help me to walk in the straight and narrow way.  Help me to avoid all conduct which is not in alignment with your will and purpose.  Help me to lead people to Jesus ,who has stepped in and paid the penalty of our sins for us, and help me to teach others by my own example to walk in the light of your love, mercy and grace day by day.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

I give up the notion that even my slightest actions have no consequences.

Leave a Reply

