Not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed


 Scripture Acts 27

21After the men had gone a long time without food, Paul stood up before them and said: “Men, you should have taken my advice not to sail from Crete; then you would have spared yourselves this damage and loss. 22But now I urge you to keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed. 23Last night an angel of the God whose I am and whom I serve stood beside me 24and said, ‘Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’ 25So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as he told me. 26Nevertheless, we must run aground on some island.”

Observation

We will not be lost – but we will run aground.

Application

The statement Paul made about the ship was about a physical situation they were facing at the time, but the words chosen here by the Holy Spirit to retell this story I think ring true on a spiritual level as well.  

Not one of you (The real YOU) will be lost; only the ship (your body) will be destroyed.

All of us are spiritual beings, that is the real us – we are having a physical experience in our bodies.  The bodies were not designed to last forever but the real part of who we are – our spirit was designed to be immortal.  We will not be lost – only our vessel in which we now travel.

This scene gives us many great truths, and the more I ponder it, the more I am able to relate it to my own life. 

The Angel told Paul – You must stand trial before Ceasar.  In other words – this is part of God’s plan for you – and its GOING to happen.  So this storm that you’re going through, and this shipwreck that you’re about to face are all part of the larger plan. 

There is no way that we can know all the intricate details of God’s plan regarding the storm and shipwreck.  The fact that there were over 200 people aboard should clue us in that the reasons and purpose for it must have resounded throughout history in more ways than we can possibly imagine.

So it is with us, yes we are going to face problems, there are going to be times when we go through hardships and suffering, we may feel that we ourselves are shipwrecked on a deserted island.  But we should know that God has a plan, and that He is actively involved in bringing that plan together in our lives.

Think about your own life, and at the pivotal parts, how all the little seemingly insignificant events led up to the big picture climax of what you know God wanted to happen.  I can certainly see it as I look back over the years of my own life.  The problem that we have is that we can’t see it as we look forward from where we are.  But God can.  And I praise Him today for being in the drivers seat of my life.

Prayer

Father I thank you for my life, and even though when I am going through the hard parts I am full of doubt, fear, and often complaining, I know that you are in charge and that you will guide me safely home.  Although my ship (body) may not last forever, I know that you will not allow me (the real me) to be lost.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

I give up my loneliness in hardship and sorrow because I am Never alone.

Leave a Reply

