Your Heart is where you hang your hat.


Scripture Acts 25

4Festus answered, “Paul is being held at Caesarea, and I myself am going there soon. 5Let some of your leaders come with me and press charges against the man there, if he has done anything wrong.”

 6After spending eight or ten days with them, he went down to Caesarea, and the next day he convened the court and ordered that Paul be brought before him. 7When Paul appeared, the Jews who had come down from Jerusalem stood around him, bringing many serious charges against him, which they could not prove.

 8Then Paul made his defense: “I have done nothing wrong against the law of the Jews or against the temple or against Caesar.”

 9Festus, wishing to do the Jews a favor, said to Paul, “Are you willing to go up to Jerusalem and stand trial before me there on these charges?”

Observation

The more time you spend with someone, or in some place, or with some thoughts, the more fond you grow of them.

Application

Festus was at first was resistant to the chief priests and the Jewish leaders who appeared before him.  But after inviting them to travel with him, and spending eight or ten days with them, he seems to have grown fonder of them and by verse 9 he wants to do them a favor.

I think this shows us something about human nature.  The more time you spend with a person, or in a place, or embracing a certain belief or doctrine, the fonder you grow to it / them and the more difficult it becomes for you to change.

This is why it’s important for us to spend time daily in prayer and seeking to feel the presence of the Spirit of the Lord.  It’s important for us to spend time in study of the scriptures, its important for us to fellowship and spend time with our brothers and sisters in Christ so that we grow fonder of them. 

If you really want to evaluate yourself and figure out what is most important to you – notice where you spend most of your free time. And if you need to change your priorities, try re-arranging  your calender and giving more time to those things that are of the highest importance.

Prayer

Father God, help me to keep my priorities in line and help me to daily spend time in meditation and prayer with you.  Help me to study your scriptures and contemplate your love and grace.  Help me to serve your people and make spending time with them a priority in my life, and help me not to miss out on spending time with my family which you have blessed me with, help me to realize that just because I am in the same place as they are, doesn’t mean I’m spending time WITH them.

Yieldedness

I Yield my time and attention to your will for my life, I turn over my choice of where I am, and who I am with to your guidance so that I may grow fonder of those who you would have me ministering with and to.

Leave a Reply

