Finishing The Race


Scripture Acts 20

22“And now, compelled by the Spirit, I am going to Jerusalem, not knowing what will happen to me there. 23I only know that in every city the Holy Spirit warns me that prison and hardships are facing me. 24However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

Observation

God never promises that our spiritual journey will be one of comfort and ease.  But we know that once finished, Heaven is our reward.

Application

I have not travelled nearly as extensively as the Apostle Paul did, but I have gone far enough to know that God doesn’t always send you on the easiest roads.  The Lord is continually taking us out of comfortable situations and placing us in less accommodating surroundings. Paul had spent two years in Ephesus – he had undoubtedly grown used to his surroundings and developed love and friendship with the people.

 Why does it seem that God doesn’t want us to be comfortable and content?  I think its because He wants us to keep moving forward, following His guidance, and pressing toward the goal of Heaven.  As the old song says “This world is not my home, I’m just passing though, my treasures are laid up, somewhere beyond the blue, the angels becon me from Heaven’s open door, and I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.”  I think that is how God wants us to feel about this world. 

If we are too comfortable here, why do we need to keep working and  racing toward our goal of Heaven?  Its not just that someday our lease here will expire and we are forced to move on, its more than that.  We are passing through this place on our way to a greater place. 

Jesus told his disciples that as long as they were alive they would face hardships “In This World”  but to be comforted in knowing that He had “Overcome the World.”  and that He was “Going to Prepare a Place for us.”   How beautiful that place must be by now.  

Prayer

Father thank you for setting me on this spiritual journey, and leading me on this path.  Help me to keep focused in my mind that the ultimate goal of the race we are running is not in this world, but in the next with You!

Love Michael 

Yieldedness

I Yield my ideas that THIS world is my goal and home.

Leave a Reply

