It was then that I was carrying you.


Scripture

Psalm 13

 1 How long, O LORD ? Will you forget me forever?
       How long will you hide your face from me?

 2 How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
       and every day have sorrow in my heart?
       How long will my enemy triumph over me?

 3 Look on me and answer, O LORD my God.
       Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death;

 4 my enemy will say, “I have overcome him,”
       and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

 5 But I trust in your unfailing love;
       my heart rejoices in your salvation.

 6 I will sing to the LORD,
       for he has been good to me.

Observation

We may feel that God has abandoned us , we may feel that God is punishing us, or that He has withdrawn His favor for us, but this is the deception of the enemy, for God is with us always, through good times and bad.

 

Application

I’m reminded of the poem Footprints.  I doubt there are many Christians in the world who aren’t farmiliar with its inspired story.  God is with us even when we think we are walking alone.  We may feel that we are in the sorrows and pains that we are facing by our selves, but in reality it is only our refusal to see God working in the hardships of our lives, that makes us feel alone.

God is closer to us than the breath we are breathing, and is never somewhere out there looking the other way.  All we have to do is call out and He hears us.  Sometimes we allow the winds and waves of this life to distract us from His divine spirit, but His love never fails, and His presence will never abandon us.

This Psalm shows David’s humanity, like Peter walking on the water toward Jesus, David had allowed the circumstances that he was facing to take his eyes off of God.  But God had not abandoned him, and had not forgotten him.  He didn’t have to beg God to return to him, he only needed to realize that He had never left.

Prayer

Father, I thank you that you are there with me even during my hardest trials and sorrows.  I thank you that you are there with me even when I can not percieve you, nor feel your presence, nor see your influence in the situations I am facing.  I thank you that even though I am looking through the dark glass, you LORD see everything with crystal clarity!

Love Michael 

Yieldedness

I yeild any notion that the Father is ever far enough away from me that I am out of His sight.

Leave a Reply

