Keep Me On The Straight Path!


Scripture Psalm 19:
13 Keep your servant also from willful sins;
may they not rule over me.
Then I will be blameless,
innocent of great transgression.
14 May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart
be pleasing in your sight,
LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

Observation

Willful Sin can rule over me if I continue in it.

Application

There are different kinds of sin, there are sins of omission, sins of thought, word, and deed, sins of the flesh, and numerous others. One of the most dangerous kinds of sin is Willful Sin. The KJV calls it “Presumptuous” and that may be a good way of understanding it. Because once you give yourself over to Willful sin, you begin presuming that it’s actually not a sin at all. You will work out in your own mind and heart how it is justified and good and acceptable to do this thing that some others may call sin.

And while I do agree that there are some actions that are Sins to some, and not to others, and visa versa – what I’m talking about is a sin that you originally understand and know to be a sin, but then because you are engaged in it and don’t want to stop – you reason through it and become wishy-washy in your convictions.

For example, I’m not that big of a coffee drinker, so when I drink coffee I have to sip it slowly until it cools off. People who drink lots of hot coffee through out the day every day, are able to drink it faster because they have grown used to the temperature and their sences have dulled to the pain.

The human consious works in much the same way. If you deny those feelings and understandings about particular sins which your consious pokes you with, you will eventually become callus and dead to the consious and that may in itself be one of the greatest sins there is.

Prayer

Dear God,

Please keep me from allowing myself to grow insensitive to my consious. Help me to continue in the right paths. And Father, when I do stray – help me to not reason my way into denial and bring me back to the fold of your grace.

Amen

Yieldedness

I ask for strength in obeying the still small voice that You Lord have given me in reguard to sin in my life. I Yield my own reasoning to justify my sin.

Leave a Reply

