Who Do You Know?


S.  Exodus 4:10-11

10 Moses said to the LORD, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

11 The LORD said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the LORD? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

 

 

O.  It doesn’t matter how we stack up – what matters is how God stacks up.

 

 

 

A.  My wife bought me a Christian T-shirt once that had a picture of Christ on it and a caption that said, “It’s not who you are, it’s who you know.” 

 

This is true when it comes to God, because it doesn’t matter how insignificant you may feel, or how inadequate you think that your own abilities are, if you are operating through the Spirit of the Lord – you have more than you’ll ever need.

 

 

 

Sometimes we worry that we aren’t articulate enough, or intelligent enough, or fluent enough in the scriptures to share our faith with others, to tell people about Christ, but just as surely as God said he would be with Moses when he spoke to Pharaoh, he is also with us when we speak to the lost of the world about His son.

 

 

And if we meet with resistance or rejection – we have to keep in mind, that it’s not us – but God who is being rejected.  We are called to plant seeds, to share knowledge, and that’s it.  God has to make that knowledge bloom into a personal faith in Christ Jesus. 

 

P.  Dear Lord, God of our fathers – God of Abraham, God of Isaac and God of Jacob – send me into your service!  Send me with a message of freedom for your people who are enslaved in sin.  Grant me the words to speak and allow me to be a tool of your hand.  Help me to spread the word of your Son Jesus Christ in whom we have a restored relationship with You.  

 

Y.  I must understand that the most important part of who I am is the fact that I am a willing servant of the Master.  Through His strength and power, through His grace and glory I accomplish His will and purpose.

Leave a Reply

