The Kingdom Of God


Scripture Luke 17 20:21

20 Once, having been asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus replied, “The coming of the kingdom of God is not something that can be observed, 21 nor will people say, ‘Here it is,’ or ‘There it is,’ because the kingdom of God is in your midst.”

Observation 

The Pharisees and most of us in the modern Church have something in common here.  We keep looking for the kingdom to come crashing in one day when we least expect it.   Or we see it as something that is so far away from us in the future that its hard to grasp just what the Kingdom of God means for us in our daily lives. 

Application

I will never forget a summers night in 94 when I was singing at a Revival in Smithville TN.  There was a lady who was known in the congregation that I was with, as being a little “out there.”  She was well loved, but from time to time she was so charismatic and flamboyant in her excitement about feeling the Spirit of the Lord, that you could see people rolling their eyes, shaking their heads, and giving a slightly perturbed look.  She was different from everyone else in the congregation, but it never bothered her.  She came up to me that evening and said “The Kingdom of Heaven is calling you!”  She took me by the hand and led me to the alter where she proceeded to pray for me. 

It was not until that moment that I realized that the Kingdom of Heaven is all around us – its not down the road way off into the future – its here – now – its “At Hand” as John the Baptist said.  Turn around and see it!

Prayer

Father increase my knowledge of your presence and power in every corner – in every place – in every breath of life.  Help me to feel and take part in Your Kingdom on Earth – as it is in Heaven. 

Amen.

Yieldedness

I yield my own desires before you Lord that Your Kingdom may be served and discovered by those who have lost it.

Leave a Reply

