Too Much Worrying Is A Sin


Scripture: Luke 12:

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: "Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life [b]? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

Zechariah 4,5,6; Luke 12 – Passage Lookup – Today’s New International Version – BibleGateway.com

Observation:  When we spend too much time worrying, we are showing a lack of faith in God’s plan.

Application:  Some have said that worrying is a sin, and if you worry even a little, you’re sinning.  Why?  Because Jesus says right here in our scripture – "do not worry" and Jesus’ word is law.  I think that calling all worry a sin may be pushing the point that Jesus was making to an extreme, but there is no doubt that Christ is discouraging us from worrying too much about things.

Worrying is something that I think everyone who cares about anything at all is going to do naturally from time to time.  If you care about your family, you’re going to worry about them when you think they may be in danger, if you care about your job, you may worry if you think you may lose it.  We can’t help but to worry a little bit, but I think the sin comes in allowing that worry to fester up and become the biggest part of who you are.  Worrying can overtake you, it can enrapture you and control you and that, I think, is when we start being in danger of sinning because we have allowed our worries to turn into fears, and our fears have crushed out our faith in God.

I have seen some incredible circumstances unfold in my life that ultimately brought me to where I am today.  I bet you could say the same thing.  Some people may call them coincidences, but I call it part of God’s plan.  All the good and all the bad things that I’ve endured and encountered have been a part of that plan, and yes I have had some times of doubt fear and worry, but none of those negative emotions changed anything for the better.  So if God is ultimately in control, and there is really nothing that surprises Him then why should I waist time holding on to negative emotions, why should I worry, why should I fear?  This is what Jesus is saying I think. 

The disciples were going to face some difficult times in the coming years, and I think Jesus was giving them something to reflect back on with these words.  And they are good words for His disciples still today.  "Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! "

Prayer:  Father of All The Universe,

Help me not to worry so much about the future, or about what I’m going to do, where I’m going to live, what I’m going to eat, or what I’m going to wear.  Help me to put my trust for myself and my loved ones firmly in your hands and go forward each day in joy and happiness.  Grant me peace and serenity in the face of the storms of life and a knowing that you are watching over me and the ones I love.

Love Michael

4 comments on “Too Much Worrying Is A Sin

  1. lisa says:

    what a wonderful journal. this says so much and if everyone would just take these saying to heart, how much more happy would the world be. yes we are concerned about many things but if we truly trust God, why worry. God Bless you all Brother Mike. love, lisa

  2. jaseen01 says:

    I know this is a few years old but I definitely needed to hear this tonight. I have been worrying about alot lately and I see now that by not giving it to him I was losing faith in Gods ability to do as he promised and take care of me and my family. Thanks and amen

Leave a Reply

